mission statement



Girl Scout Insignia Basics

The insignia on a girl’s uniform is a record of her adventures and accomplishments as a Girl Scout. Insignia is the general term for all official items that girls and adults can wear on their uniforms.

Girl Scout insignia are broken into five categories:

  • Insignia Showing You Belong: These insignia include such items as Girl Scout membership pins, the World Trefoil pin, GSUSA and council identification strips and troop numerals.
  • Earned Grade Level Awards and Badges: These Girl Scout program awards include Girl Scout Journey Awards from the three Leadership Journeys at each program level, Daisy Petals and Leaves, Girl Scout Brownie through Ambassador proficiency badges found in The Girl’s Guide to Girl Scouting at each program level, and Girl Scouting’s highest leadership awards (Girl Scout Bronze, Silver and Gold Awards).
  • Special Opportunity Awards:  These are national awards earned through requirements determined by Girl Scouts of the USA or by another organization with whom GSUSA has a partnership agreement. These awards include the Girl Scout My Promise, My Faith Awards, Girl Scout Cookie Sale Pins, Girl Scout Safety Awards, and the President’s Award for Community Service.
  • Meritorious Service Awards: These include the Girl Scout Lifesaving Awards awarded from GSUSA through council nomination.
  • Participation Patches and Pins: Supplementary insignia developed at the national or council level with a focus on participation. These are worn on the back of the sash or vest or Daisy tunic.


Insignia List

Girl Scouts can earn or wear different insignia depending on their grade level.


Where to Place Insignia on a Uniform

Girl Scout badges, patches, awards, and other insignia should be presented, worn, or displayed only after Girl Scouts have completed the requirements outlined in the appropriate program materials.


Bridging Awards

Bridging awards mark a girl’s transition from one leadership level to the next. An exciting time in a Girl Scout’s life, the earning of the award and completion of the activities are designed to emphasize the continuity of one Girl Scout program and to welcome girls to an anticipated “next level.”


Girl Scouts’ Highest Awards

The Bronze, Silver and Gold Awards are the highest awards Girl Scouts can achieve in Girl Scouting.  Projects focus on taking action and making the world a better place.  Characteristics of a take action project include: addresses a need, addresses the root cause of the issue and creates a lasting impact that can be measured and includes provisions to ensure sustainability.  The time it takes to earn the awards will depend on the nature of the project, the size of the team, and the support of the community. Quality projects should be emphasized over quantity of hours. Go beyond blankets and collections.

Bronze, Silver and Gold Award recipients are honored at the District Recognition Event held in the spring.  The council provides the award pin and certificate.  Final report deadline is February 1st.

At a Glance provides an overview of award requirements.


Journey Awards

Patch Programs

  • Girl Scout Week Patch—The week containing March 12, the Girl Scout birthday, the anniversary of the first Girl Scout troop meeting in the United States in 1912. This observance is celebrated each year, starting with the Sunday on or preceding the 12th.